Week 10: Farewell but not Goodbye

Well, it’s the end! These last few months have been long and busy, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

In my Digital Media projects, the main pattern I saw was that I liked using photography. Photography is not a hobby of mine, but I really enjoyed taking photos throughout this course. My photo for my album cover was an enjoyable experimentation with fashion photoshoots, while my motion graphics assignment was a fun exercise in designing font using physical objects and using photos as part of a film, both of which I’d never done before.

In the future, I want to continue to create images and animation using photography. The Canon T5i I rented from the RCC for my Motion Graphics assignment was a lot more fun to shoot photos with than my comparatively terrible 10 year old digital camera, so I’ll consider renting the camera out again and nurturing photography as a hobby in the future.

The other artistic style I really enjoyed during my work was painting over photos. It was a hypnotic process that I was surprisingly good at given that I’ve never been much of a painter with actual paint (when I was told to shade an apple in elementary school, I ended up making the entire apple black). That technique made an average photo I took of myself into an album cover that I think is legitimately good, so I think I’ll use it in the future. It’s pretty easy to do, but also easy to mess up: if you make your colours too opaque, it’s hard to make your drawing look like your picture. At a certain point, you end up losing sight of your original subject, and your painting doesn’t look anything like what you intended. Therefore, I’ll always stick to painting over my own photos with strokes at low levels of opacity instead of opaquely painting over stock images from now on.

Here is a comparison of my album artwork painting with my Matilda painting to make it clear why I prefer the former technique. The Matilda picture I drew ended up not being used in my final motion graphic because it didn’t fit the aesthetic of the piece, and because my drawing made Matilda made her look way older than I aimed for.

screen-shot-2016-10-22-at-6-41-02-pm

screen-shot-2016-12-04-at-1-56-59-pm

During the course, I think the biggest thing I learned was how to work with multiple elements in a digital piece. I’d photoshopped my friends into pictures and I’d drawn cartoons on photoshop before, but I’d never simultaneously dealt with 10 components in the program like I had to in the Alice in Wonderland psd, so that definitely forced me to become better at Photoshop (specifically with using the polygonal lasso). As for animation, I’d never used After Effects, so that whole section of the course taught me a lot. Keyframing was an idea that fascinated me, especially the concept of positioning in Z space. Additionally, the use of the camera function in After Effects was interesting to me cos I had never realized that existed before.

Overall, I’m really glad I took this course. I will always hate Illustrator, but I will definitely use my improved Photoshop skills for the rest of my life, and I will enjoy my more technical understanding of animation as I continue to watch all my favourite animated shows. I will also think about the concept of metadata more because of the lecture on personal tracking, remember the CRAP principles for when I inevitably need to throw together a poster for a job or facebook event, and I will be more detailed in my observation of typography in everyday life (I already enjoyed noticing fonts in media and playing around with fonts, but the lecture on typography helped me to articulate exactly why I enjoy certain fonts and not others). Though my general picture of what digital media hasn’t really changed, my depth of knowledge about the subject has definitely improved thanks to RTA103. Thanks for a great semester! 🙂

Leave a Reply

